Skip to Navigation Skip to Content

SITE SEARCH

FIND A LOCAL UK BIKE SHOP

Show shops within miles of

Asking for Feedback about the New Bike Lock I Designed

25 June, 2014 01:33AM
Hey guys, my name's Liang I'm a college student and cyclist at USC. I've created a lock that specifically secures the wheels of a bike. I hope I can hear from you who are experts in biking and may be also locking. Here’s a link about what it looks.
https://www.facebook.com/lockyournuts/photos/a.263172987203034.1073741828.262941693892830/263177853869214/?type=1&theater
Hope you love the sleek design of the lock, which also doubles as a bottle opener.
https://www.facebook.com/lockyournuts/photos/a.263172987203034.1073741828.262941693892830/263176230536043/?type=1&permPage=1

The lock is a supplement for U-Locks. It replaces the traditional nuts on the wheel sides, protecting the removal of wheels by regular wrenches, hammers or screwdrivers (believe me, I tried). Its key looks like a wrench, which is the only tool that can remove the “nuts”. The Nutlocks do not affect the wheels from rolling. Therefore, once they are on your bike, you needn’t crouch every time when you wanna lock your wheels. However, we still need a U-lock to stick the bike to a stable object.

There are some similar products, including Pinhead, Pitlock and other locks available on Amazon.com. However, most of them have their slight deficiencies. My job was to find a solution to all of them and bring the best user experience.
1) The extraordinary material that we use
We use a one of the toughest stainless steels that is also highly corrosive resistant (SS grade 17-4PH) while competitors like Pinhead use lower quality materials like aluminum, plastic, or more corrosive-vulnerable steel. We are using a high-end manufacturer (they currently manufacture for the Chinese military) to ensure the high quality standards.
2) The safety against replicates and our great variation