Skip to Navigation Skip to Content

SITE SEARCH

FIND A LOCAL UK BIKE SHOP

Show shops within miles of

Re: derailleur v hub gears

cyclepop
01 August, 2011 10:28AM
Re Derailliurv Hubs from Murray B Langton
Thank you for your article on hub gears & derailliur.
Even though I have ridden on and off for the past 64 years I have not had much to
do with derailiur gears and I am on a steep learning curve.
I have ridden Sturmey Archer 3 & 4speed bikes, I have ridden single speed bikes both
fixed and freewheel versions when living in areas with not too steep hills.
I now live at the top of what I believe is the third highest point in Oxfordshire,
so that when I go out cycling I always have a very steep hill to climb to return home,
plus any intervening hills.
I am looking to get the best selection of gears that I can this seems to be derailliurs
But hub gears are it appears less trouble to maintain and going by what I have experience of
less fiddling with gear settings.
As said I am new to derailiurs and it seems I am always having to make small adjustments to this system
Whereas hub gears I needed to give a small tweak to, about on average every three to four months.
I was intrigued by the information that you had ridden the Lands End to John of Grouts run I was looking in envy
at a website for this run a little while ago. It was a 15 night stopover tour and one would need to
ride 70 to 75 miles per day to complete it, of course one can ride lighter and get ones luggage carried by the
firm organising the trip, that helps,as I remember doing a 500 mile trip back in 1951 with two friends
and we carried food,drink,cooking stove,tent,sleeping gear,and extra clothes.a bit different then.
But getting back to that trip of yours I could not keep up a daily run of that kind,my maximum distance at the moment is
20 miles.The worst thing that I suffer with is a sore bottom, this I am hoping to relieve as I have just sent away